top of page
Certification Competencies

There are five core competencies that embody the knowledge, skills, and abilities (KSAs) of Certified Family Peer Specialists (CFPS) and their work supporting caregivers and families. The short video below provides information about how the core competencies connect to CFPS field work nationally. We encourage you to watch this prior to completing your CFPS application. In the drop down menu that follows, you will find information about the KSAs that may be included in each national core competency and field work examples that demonstrate proficiency in each area. Additionally, we have included information about the origin of national certification and the most recent revisions made to the national core competencies for CFPS's.

Have additional questions?

Please contact us at:


Tel: (240) 403-1901

bottom of page